Visit of ESA delegation at the HSC 

On Tuesday, January 30th, the Hellenic Space Center welcomed Prof. Carole Mundell, Director of Science of the European Space Agency (ESA), and a team of distinguished colleagues from ESA. The meeting was jointly organized by the Ministry of Digital Governance and the HSC and was hosted at the HSC premises. The meeting provided the opportunity to hear and discuss about the activities and plans within the ESA Science Program and a more effective participation of Greek entities. Participants: 

From ESA: 

  • Carole Mundell, ESA Director of Science 
  • Rolf de Groot, Head of the Science Coordination Office for Relations with Member States at ESA  
  • Ulrike Bohlmann, Head of Section in the Director General’s Cabinet 
  • Frederic Safa, Head of the Future Missions Department, D/SCI 

From the Ministry of Digital Governance:  

  • Konstantinos Karantzalos, General Secretary of Telecommunications and Post, Head of Greek Delegation to ESA  
  • Argyro Kagia, Head of the Department of Satellite Services and Infrastructure, Delegate of Greece to ESA for the Earth Observation Programme Board (PB-EO) 
  • Erythra Zisi, Deputy Head of Department of 5G Wireless Communications, Delegate of Greece to ESA for the Science Programme Committee (SPC) 

From the Hellenic Space Center:  

  • Ioannis Daglis, President of the HSC, Professor of Space Physics at the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens  
  • Anezina Solomonidou, HSC Science Officer for Space Sciences and Space Exploration – Delegate of Greece to ESA for the Human Spaceflight, Microgravity and Exploration Programme Board (PB-HME) 
  • Dimitris Mylonas, HSC Science Officer for Space Systems  

From the Hellenic Astronomical Society (Hel.A.S):  

  • Vassilis Charmandaris, President of Hel.A.S, Director of the Institute of Astrophysics at FORTH, Director of Skinakas Observatory 
  • Georgios Balasis, Vice-President of Hel.A.S, Research Director of the Institute for Astronomy, Astrophysics, Space Applications and Remote Sensing (IAASARS) at the National Observatory of Athens (NOA)